Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Theatre of Ireland (1906 - 1912)


  • Description

    The Theatre of Ireland was formed in 1906 by Irish National Theatre Society Members who refused to accept the transformation of the theatre into a limited company. Maire Nic Shiubhlaigh was their main actor, and Padraic Colum and Seumas O'Kelly as the main playwrights, and Fred Morrow as stage manager. They played in the Rotunda, Molesworth Hall and the Abbey Theatre.