Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.



1906 - 1989

Samuel Beckett was born in Foxrock, Dublin. After a distinguished career at Trinity College Dublin, he was appointed to an exchange lectureship in Paris, where he spent much of the remainder of his life, writing in both French and English. His novels include Murphy (1938), Watt (1942) and his trilogy of novels, Molloy, Malone Dies and The Unnameable (1949). He wrote and directed several works for television and film, including a silent piece, Film (1964), with Buster Keaton, and two wordless pieces, Quad I and II (1988). He also wrote a number of radio plays, one of which, All That Fall (1956), was presented as an installation in the Project Arts Centre by Pan Pan Theatre Company in August 2011. Samuel Beckett was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1969. He died in Paris on December 22, 1989.


Play Title Playwright
Footfalls Samuel Beckett