Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly



  • Playwright

    Páraic Breathnach 

  • Author Notes

    Adapted by Páraic Breathnach, devised by the company

  • Synopsis

    Balor of The Evil Eye rules the Fomorian race. His first child, Eithne, is born but a druid prophesises that she will bear a son who will kill Balor. In an attempt to deny his fate, Balor locks Eithne in a tower. Across the water, the craftsmen of the Tuatha De Danann live under Balor's tyranny. In a failed attempt to rescue a stolen cow, whose milk never dries up, Conaola, one of the Dé Danann finds and falls in love with Eithne. She gives birth in captivity and eventually her child, Lú, realises his destiny.

  • Play Type

    Physical/Devised Theatre

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    Cast doubling is possible. See original production for details.


Original Cast  
Fomorian Jane Talbot (1)
Dé Danann Jane Talbot (1)
Matron Jane Talbot (1)
Druid Midie Corcoran
Conaola Midie Corcoran
Fomorian Steve Currid
Gabhaidh Steve Currid
Fomorian Hillary Kavanagh
Eithne Hillary Kavanagh
Balor Fred McCloskey
Fomorian Peter Nelson
Fomorian Nuala Ni Chanainn
Dé Danann Nuala Ni Chanainn
Mother Petal Pilley
Fomorian Petal Pilley
Dé Danann Petal Pilley
Fomorian Brendan Savage
Samhain Brendan Savage
Fomorian Natalie Sebald
Dé Danann Natalie Sebald
Matron Natalie Sebald
Natalie Sebald
Production Team  
Director Rod Goodall
Set Designer Ger Sweeney
Producer Declan Gibbons
Lighting Designer David Murphy (2)
Costume Designer Charmian Goodall
Lyrics by John Dunne (1)
Lyrics by Ann Learmont
Music by John Dunne (1)
Musician John Dunne (1)
Musician Nuala Ni Chanainn
Musician Kevin Duffy
Musician Steve Hanks
Musician Barry Duffy
Mask Design Frederica Hayter
Production Manager John Ashton
Stage Manager Peter Nelson
Set Construction Peter Nelson
Scenic Artist Ger Sweeney
Construction Manager Fergal Gallagher
Effects & Specialist Construction Mike Regan
Electrical Effects Jim Faulkner
Sound Engineer David Murphy (2)
PR Gary McMahon
Graphic Design A&D Design
Photography Aengus McMahon
Production Buyer Karen Gordon
Administrator Derval Byrne


  • Contact

    Not Available


  • Not Available


The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme and promotional flyer.