Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Printer Friendly

Mysteries 2000


  • Playwright

    Johnny Hanrahan  Joseph O'Connor (1)  Pat Kinevane  Gavin Kostick  Michael Scott (2)  Mary Elizabeth Burke-Kennedy  Declan Gorman  Joe O'Byrne  Derek Chapman  Aidan Mathews  Fergus Linehan (1)  Brendan Kennelly  Michael McCaffery  Deirdre Purcell  Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill 

  • Author Notes

    A new adaptation of the Mystery Plays (author unknown).
  • Synopsis

    Mysteries 2000 was a millennium project where fifteen writers were commissioned to produce new versions of sections of the Mystery plays. The plays were as follows: 'The Fall of Lucifer', 'Creation', 'Jesus, Mary & Joseph' and 'Judgement Day' by Michael McCaffery; 'Cain and Abel' and 'The Last Supper' by Aidan Matthews; 'Noah' by Fergus Linehan; 'Abraham & Isaac' by Johnny Hanrahan; 'Moses' by Joe O'Byrne; 'Temptation' and 'The Adulteress Woman' by Joseph O'Connor; 'Parliament of Heaven', 'The Seven Deadly Virtues' and 'Council of Jews' by Derek Chapman; 'The Death of Herod' by Pat Kinevane; 'John the Baptist' by Declan Gorman; 'My Mind of Questions' and 'Betrayal' by Brendan Kennelly; 'Lazarus', 'Buffeting' and 'Harrowing of Hell' by Gavin Kostick; 'Pilate's Wife' by Mary Elizabeth Burke-Kennedy; 'The Death of Judas' by Michael Scott; 'Ascension' by Deirdre Purcell and 'Song of Songs' by Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill.

  • Play Type


    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    In the original production a cast of twenty played various characters.

Original Production

Original Cast  
Performer Phyllis Ryan
Performer Kate Williams
Performer Stephen Kealy
Performer Mark Garkusha
Performer John Mathews
Performer Merrina Millsap
Performer Sue Portsmith
Performer Victor Burke
Performer Sarah O'Toole
Performer Kate Smith
Performer Cynthia Buchan
Performer Derek Chapman
Performer Amy Conroy
Performer Klaus Hassel
Performer Patrick Byrnes
Performer Simon King
Performer Niall Power (1)
Performer Andrea Edmunds
Performer Lopa Das
Performer James Watson
Production Team  
Director Michael Scott (2)
Set Designer Bronwen Casson
Lighting Designer Michael Scott (2)
Producer Avril Ryan
Costumes Synan O'Mahony
Costume Assistant Roisin O'Connor
Choreographer Andrea Edmunds
Music by Michael Scott (2)
Musician Cormac De Barra
Musician Rossa Ó Snodaigh
Musician Cliodhna Quinlan
Musician Simon O'Reilly
Musician Eoin Behan
Musician David Boyd (2)
Additional Music Conor Linehan
Assistant Director Mick Mellamphy
Company Manager Caroline Grace
Production Manager Eva Walsh
Technical Manager Brian Rudden
Stage Manager John Sherrard
Assistant Stage Manager Stuart Casey
Set Construction Nicholas Codd
Set Construction Paul Dempsey
Set Construction Patrick Keating
Graphic Design Liam Furlong
Photography John Reck
Researcher Michael McCaffery

Unpublished Scripts

Rights Information

  • See individual writers other work

Source Of Information

The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme.