Printer Friendly

Slattery's Sago Saga


  • Playwright

    Arthur Riordan 

  • Adapted / Translated From

    Flann O'Brien

  • Author Notes

    Adapted from the unfinished novel by Flann O'Brien
  • Synopsis

    Tim Hartigan enjoys a quiet life as general dogsbody of Poguemahone Hall. But his peaceful existence has been shattered by the arrival of a Scotch woman with a ridiculously evil plan. And just round the corner, utter confusion awaits in the shape of a politically-correct Leprechaun, a beautiful typist and a tycoon T.D. bent on bankrupting the country.

  • Play Type


    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    Cast doubling possible. See original production for details.

Original Production

  • Date of First Production

    16 July 2010

  • Producer

    Produced by The Performance Corporation

  • Original Venue

  • Venue Notes

    First performed at Rathfarnham Castle.

Original Cast  
Billy Colum Louis Lovett
Eustace Baggeley Louis Lovett
Aloysius Foley Louis Lovett
Ned Hoolihan Louis Lovett
Sarsfield Slattery Darragh Kelly
Tim Hartigan Malcolm Adams
Imelda Lisa Lambe
Crawford McPherson Clare Barrett (1)
Production Team  
Director Jo Mangan
Producer Marketa Dowling
Costume Designer Niamh Lunny
Sound Designer Tom Swift
Set & Lighting Designer Ciaran Bagnall
Lighting Assistant Jen Shepherd
Project Manager Irene O'Mara
Production Co-ordinator Irene O'Mara
Production Assistant Ian Gower
Set Assistant Jen Shepherd
Graphic Design Caoimhe O'Byrne
Photography Ciaran Bagnall
Photography Colm Hogan
Assistant Show Manager Emma Hannon
Make-Up Chloe Bourke
Make-Up Lorraine McCrann
Video Niamh Burke-Kennedy
Show Manager Clive Welsh

Unpublished Scripts

Rights Information

Source Of Information

The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme.