Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Printer Friendly

The Commitments


  • Playwright

    Roddy Doyle 

  • Setting

    Dublin, 1986

  • Synopsis

    The Commitments is the story of Jimmy Rabbitte, a young working class music fan, who shapes an unlikely bunch of amateur musicians and friends into an amazing live act, the finest soul band Dublin has ever produced. The show follows the journey of two members of a frustrated synthesizer band - the opening scene we find them playing but being ignored in a shop window - who turn to Jimmy, the local music expert, for help. Placing a classified advert in a music paper, Jimmy auditions a number of wannabes before finalising the new line up who he names The Commitments. The humour kicks in as the band get to know each other and their instruments, and proceed through early rehearsals for their first gig. Just as they improve and begin to get a name for themselves they combust. The backing singers are all getting off with the middle aged horn legend, the singer has entered Eurovision and the saxophone player has dangerous leaning towards a jazz career.

  • Play Type

    Musical Theatre

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    Cast doubling occurs.

Original Production

  • Date of First Production

    21 September 2013

  • Production Notes

    Produced by Phil McIntyre Entertainments.
  • Producer

  • Original Venue

  • Venue Notes

    Performed at the Palace Theatre in London's West End.

Original Cast  
Jimmy's Da/Caretaker Sean Kearns
Ensemble/Dance Captain/Fight Captain Natalie Hope
Audition/Ensemble John McLarnon
Alice/Ensemble Riona O'Connor
Hot Press/Ensemble Thomas Snowden
Audition/Ensemble Alex Tomkins
Jimmy's Ma/Outspan's Ma Julia Worsley
Joey Ben Fox
Mickah Joe Woolmer
Outspan Matthew Wycliffe
Sharon Clodagh Long
Ray/Ensemble/Alternate Deco Ian McIntosh
Barman/Ensemble Glenn Speers
Canteen Man/Ensemble Ryan Gibb
Audition/Ensemble Christopher Fry
Sap/Ensemble Padraig Dooney
Deco Killian Donnelly
Derek Mark Dugdale
Folk Mass Girl/Ensemble Sharon Sexton
Swing Mark Irwin
Natalie Stephanie McKeon
Jimmy Denis Grindel
Bernie Jessica Cervi
Dave Brian Gilligan
Billy Brian Gilligan
Dean Andrew Linnie
Imelda Sarah O'Connor
James Barnaby Southgate
Swing Hollie O'Donoghue
Production Team  
Director Jamie Lloyd
Lighting Designer Jon Clark
Sound Designer Rory Madden
Choreographer Ann Yee
Fight Director Kate Waters
Music Arranged by Alan Williams
Music Supervisor Alan Williams
Musical Director Alan Berry
Hair & Wig Designer Richard Mawbey
Assistant Director Caroline Jay Ranger
Executive Producer Roddy Doyle
Executive Producer John Sutton
Production Manager Matt Towell
Set & Costume Designer Soutra Gilmour
Props Supervisor Chris Marcus
Props Supervisor Jonathan Hall
Assistant Costume Supervisor Clare Henstock
Costume Supervisor Binnie Bowerman
Rehearsal Photography Trevor Leighton
Production Photography Johan Persson
Associate Lighting Designer Peter Harrison
Associate Sound Designer Toby Chester
Dialect Coach Zabarjad Salam
Dialect Coach Penny Dyer
Orchestral Management Andy Barnwell
Orchestral Management Pete Harrison
Casting Director David Grindrod
Associate Set Designer Aaron Marsden
Associate Musical Arranger Mark Cumberland

Unpublished Scripts

  • Contact

    John Sutton

  • Address

    Building 3, Kilmainham Square
    Dublin 8
    Republic of Ireland

  • Phone

    +353 (0)1 708 0204

  • Email


Rights Information

  • Territory

    All Territories

  • Rights Type

    All Rights

  • Contact

    John Sutton

  • Address

    Building 3, Kilmainham Square
    Dublin 8
    Republic of Ireland

  • Phone

    +353 (0)1 708 0204

  • Email


Source Of Information

The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme.