Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Neil Jordan


Born in 1950 in Sligo, Neil Jordan's early career began as a writer. After setting up the Irish Writers' Co-operative in 1974, he won the Guardian Fiction Prize for his book of short stories, 'Night in Tunisia'(1976). Since then he has gone on to publish three novels including 'Sunrise with Sea Monster'(1994). Neil Jordan wrote and directed his first feature film 'Angel' in 1982, for which he won the London Evening Standard's 'Most Promising Newcomer' award. Since that time he has won numerous awards for his writing and directing in film. His films include 'The Company of Wolves', 'Mona Lisa', 'The Miracle', 'The Crying Game', 'Interview with a Vampire', 'Michael Collins' and 'The Butcher Boy'.

Playwriting Credits

Play Title Playwright
Journal of a Hole Neil Jordan Jim Sheridan
White Horses Neil Jordan


Play Title Playwright
White Horses Neil Jordan


Play Title Playwright
Women at Work Jim Sheridan Peter Sheridan
Research by Mary Maher and TEAM