Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Leland Bardwell

1928 -

Leland Bardwell was born in India of Irish parents and was brought to Ireland at the age of two. Her collections of poetry are The Mad Cyclist (Dublin, New Writers' Press, 1970), The Fly and the Bedbug (Dublin, Beaver Row Press, 1984), Dostoevsky's Grave, New and Selected Poems (Dublin, The Dedalus Press, 1991), and The White Beach: New & Selected Poems 1960-1988 (Cliffs of Moher, Co Clare, Salmon Publishing, 1998). Her novels are Girl on a Bicycle (Dublin, Co-Op Books, 1977), That London Winter (Co-Op Books, 1981), The House (Kerry, Brandon, 1984), There We Have Been (Dublin, Attic Press, 1989), and Mother to a Stranger (Belfast, The Blackstaff Press, 2002). A volume of short stories, Different Kinds of Love (Attic Press, 1994), has been translated into German as Zeit vertreibt Liebe. She is a member of Aosdána, and lives in Co Sligo.

Playwriting Credits

Play Title Playwright
Open Ended Prescription Leland Bardwell