Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly

The Countrywoman


  • Playwright

    Elizabeth Kuti 

  • Author Notes

    Adapted from Paul Smith's novel The Countrywoman, first published in 1961.

  • Setting

    The play is set between 1918 and 1930 in the Dublin tenement room of Molly Baines and her family; in the lane where they live; and at various other locations.

  • Synopsis

    Molly Baines is trying to raise a family in the worst tenement slums in the Western World, against all the odds of poverty, war and deprivation, and she is making quite a success of it. Then one day her missing husband comes home from the First World War and her life and the lives of her children are plunged into turmoil.

  • Play Type


    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    Cast doubling is possible. See original production for details. In the original production in addition to the specified characters various other parts are played by the ensemble.


Original Cast  
Babby Baines Simone Kirby
Granny Quinn Simone Kirby
Mrs Kinsella Lynda Gough
Miss Cahill Lynda Gough
Pat Baines Brendan Laird
Teasy Baines Julie Aspell
Florry Connors Julie Aspell
Nancy O'Byrne Julie Aspell
Fawan the Witch Julie Aspell
Mrs Baines Patricia Kennedy (2)
Kitty Baines Emma Colohan
Queenie Mullen Emma Colohan
Mrs Sly Emma Colohan
Danny Baines Sean O'Shaughnessy
The Rent Man Sean O'Shaughnessy
The Judge Sean O'Shaughnessy
The Hospital Porter Sean O'Shaughnessy
The Priest Fergus Walsh
Tommy Tucker Fergus Walsh
Mr Pughe Fergus Walsh
The Gravedigger Fergus Walsh
Zena Baines Denise McCormack
Dilsey Baines Denise McCormack
Esther Fitz Denise McCormack
Cocky O'Byrne Denise McCormack
Mrs Slattery Amy Conroy
Sister at the Dispensary Amy Conroy
Sister at the Asylum Amy Conroy
Production Team  
Director Declan Gorman
Set Designer David Craig
Lighting Designer Dermot O'Donnell
Producer Nick Reilly
Costume Designer Maureen Finn
Sound Designer Stephen McArdle
Movement Director Carina McGrail
Mime Director Sue Mythen
Assistant Director Andrew Chase
Production Manager Dermot O'Donnell
Assistant Production Manager Kevin Smith
Stage Director Davog Rynne
Trainee Stage Manager Joseph Collins
Set Construction Jim Carson
Scenic Artist Bev Craig
PR Donal Healy
Graphic Design John Moloney
Photography Des Clinton
Make-Up Susan Bradley
Production Accountant Kathleen O'Brien
Advertising Gerald Nash
Hair by Susan Bradley



  • Territory

    All Territories

  • Rights Type

    Adaptation rights

  • Contact

    The Agency

  • Address

    24 Pottery Lane, Holland Park
    London W11 4LZ

  • Phone

    + 44 (0)20 7727 1346

  • Email

  • Website


The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme and promotional flyer.