Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly



  • Playwright

    Desmond Forristal 

  • Setting

    Auschwitz Concentration Camp in Summer 1941 and later in April 1947.

  • Synopsis

    The true story of the martyrdom of Father Maximilian Kolbe, the Polish-born Franciscan friar and resistance hero who gave up his own life in Auschwitz so that another might be spared.

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    Cast doubling is possible. See original production for details.


Original Cast  
Captain Stamitz Ted Sheehy
SS Man/Prisoner etc. Philip Hardy
Peter Baumann Des Nealon
Tadeusz Jakubowski Stephen Brennan (1)
Heinrich Himmler, SS Reichsfuhrer Tom Hickey
Francis Gajowniczek Malcolm Douglas
Rudolf Hoess, Commander of Auschwitz Des Cave
Second SS Guard John Olohan
Daniel Moszcowski Eamon Kelly
SS Man/Prisoner etc. Christopher Neary
Mrs Fritzsch Máire Ní Ghráinne
Fr Maximilian Kolbe Clive Geraghty
Jan Wyszinski Geoff Golden
Jan Domanski Philip O'Flynn
Anthony Bukowski Desmond Perry
Stanislaw Kempisty Nicholas Grennell
Mrs Hoess Maire O'Neill (2)
Karl Fritzsch Emmet Bergin
First SS Guard Godfrey Quigley
Joseph Tardowicz Dónall Farmer
Polish Official Dermot Tuohy
SS Man/Prisoner etc. John Lawson
Boy's Mother Gay Harding
SS Man/Prisoner etc. Gerry Doyle
Rudi Hoess Graham Boland
Boy at Railway Station Graham Boland
Karol Rodzinski Patrick Dawson
SS Man/Prisoner etc. Tom Little
SS Man/Prisoner etc. William Higgins
SS Man/Prisoner etc. John Whelan
SS Man/Prisoner etc. Rory McKeever
SS Man/Prisoner etc. Niall MacAnna
SS Man/Prisoner etc. John Clear
SS Man/Prisoner etc. Eoghan Ó Mórán
SS Man/Prisoner etc. Liam O'Beirne
Production Team  
Director Ray McAnally
Set Designer Juliet Watkinson
Lighting Tony Wakefield
Costume Designer Wendy Shea
Sound Nuala Golden
Design Assistant Michael Hunter
Production Manager Brian Collins
Stage Director Rhona Woodcock
Stage Manager John Andrews
Assistant Stage Manager John Stapleton
Props Master Stephen Molloy
Lighting Operator Mick Doyle (2)
Set Construction Paddy Rose
Set Construction Maurice Deegan
Set Construction Mark Darley
Scenic Artist Eddie Doyle(1)
Wardrobe Supervisor Anne Cave
Wardrobe Assistant Kitty Casey
Photography Fergus Bourke



  • Territory

    All Territories

  • Rights Type

    All Rights

  • Contact

    Ciaran Forristal

  • Address

    Republic of Ireland

  • Email


The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme.