Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly

Theatre For One (Ireland)


  • Playwright

    Marina Carr  Stacey Gregg  Emmet Kirwan  Louise Lowe  Mark O'Rowe  Enda Walsh 

  • Notes

    Conceived by Artistic Director Christine Jones and designed by LOT-EK architects, Theatre for One is a mobile state-of-the-art performance space for one actor and one audience member featuring new commissions created specifically for this venue's one-to-one relationship. 

  • Synopsis

    Six Irish playwrights presented five-minute monologue plays. 

    Cygnum Canticum by Marina Carr, directed by Srda Vasiljevic;
    Brilliant by Stacey Gregg, directed by Srda Vasiljevic;
    Queen of the Pyramids by Emmet Kirwan, directed by Srda Vasiljevic;
    Bait by Louise Lowe, directed by Eoghan Carrick;
    The Spur by Mark O’Rowe, directed by Eoghan Carrick;
    by Enda Walsh, directed by Eoghan Carrick.

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts

    Series of short individual plays

  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female



  • Date of First Production

    18 June 2019

  • Production Notes

    Cork Midsummer Festival and Cork Opera House present Landmark Productions and Octopus Theatre as part of the Cork Midsummer Festival. 

  • Producer

    Produced by Landmark Productions Presented by Cork Midsummer Festival and Cork Opera House

  • Original Venue

    Cork Opera House

  • Venue Notes

    A booth outside Cork Opera House on Emmet Place. 

Original Cast  
Performer (Cygnum Canticum) Sean McGinley
Performer (Brilliant) Kathy Rose O'Brien
Performer (Queen of the Pyramids) Kate Gilmore
Performer (Bait) Eileen Walsh
Performer (The Spur) Derbhle Crotty
Performer (Cave) Frank Blake
Production Team  
Artistic Director Christine Jones
Resident Director Srda Vasiljevic
Producer Anne Clarke
Producer Mara Isaacs
Associate Producer Sara Cregan
Director Srda Vasiljevic
Director Eoghan Carrick
Lighting Designer Josh Higgason
Sound Designer Josh Higgason
Costume Designer Ciara Coleman-Geaney
Production Co-ordinator Bryan Hunt
Production Manager Josh Higgason
Production Manager Eamonn Fox
Stage Manager Fiona Keller
Assistant Stage Manager Alison White
Make-Up Catherine Biggs
Make-Up Emma Finegan




The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme and the Cork Midsummer Festival programme.