Printer Friendly


A Play in Six Scenes, by Paul Vincent Carroll.


  • Playwright

    Paul Vincent Carroll 

  • Setting

    An old shanty on the outskirts of Altmoran, a small coastal town near Dundalk.

  • Notes

    Revived as 'The Secret Kindred'.

  • Synopsis

    A young ironmonger's daughter falls for an unstable artist. She prepares herself for embarking on a life together, but they are forced apart when he meets another woman and subsequently commits suicide. Years later the ironmonger's daughter meets her dead lover's son,avagabond musician, and sees him as the son she should have had herself.

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


Original Production

Original Cast  
Sergeant Hannigan Fred Johnston
Agnes Keefe Shelah Richards
Michael Fennet Denis O'Dea
J.K. Keefe F J McCormick
Dermot O'Regan W. O'Gorman
Primrose Carr Gertrude Quinn
Figure I Gerard Healy
Figure III John MacDarby
Mary Fennet Eileen Crowe
Mary Griffin Eileen Crowe
Robert Fennet Michael J. Dolan
Alice Brid Lynch
Figure II J. Winter
Production Team  
Settings by Austin Meldon
Produced by Frank Dermody
Set Painter Anne Yeats

Unpublished Scripts

Rights Information

  • Territory

    All Territories

  • Rights Type

    All Rights

  • Contact

    Helena Carroll

  • Address

    Apt No 480 The Whitby Apartments
    325 West 45th Street
    New York

  • Phone

    001 212 246 0430 ext 418

Source Of Information

The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme and from press cuttings of the time.