Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Printer Friendly

The Slough

A Play in Three Acts


  • Playwright

    Andrew Patrick Wilson 

  • Setting

    The Dublin tenements, 1913

  • Synopsis

    A play about the General Strike of 1913 and of how it ultimately led to failure.

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


Original Production

Original Cast  
Jack Hanlon Philip Guiry
Margaret Kelly Nora Desmond
Comittee Member Michael Conniffe
Comittee Member J F Barlow
Comittee Member Thomas O'Neill
Annie Hanlon Kathleen Drago
Strike Leader Andrew Patrick Wilson
Comittee Member J A O'Rourke
Comittee Member J M Kerrigan
Comittee Member Sydney J Morgan
Edward Kelly H E Hutchinson
Peter Hanlon Arthur Sinclair
Tom Robinson Fred O'Donovan (1)
Peg Eithne Magee
Mary Hanlon Maura O'Byrne
Production Team  
Produced by Andrew Patrick Wilson

Rights Information

  • Not Found

Source Of Information

The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme and Ireland's Abbey Theatre: A History 1899-1951 by Lennox Robinson, with additional information from press cuttings of the time.