Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Printer Friendly

William John Mawhinney

Being the Story of his Bi-centenary
A Comedy in six scenes


  • Playwright

    St. John Greer Ervine 

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    In addition to the listed cast there are Gunmen, Policemen, Pressmen, etc

Original Production

Original Cast  
William Semple Cyril Cusack
Mrs Logan Ria Mooney
Arthur McKinstry Finbar Howard
William Gracey, MD Michael J. Dolan
Sarah McMichael May Craig
Mrs Cairnduff Eileen Crowe
Councillor Joseph McGlade Seamus Healy
A Sergeant of the RUC Fred Johnson
John McMichael F J McCormick
George Larmour Denis O'Dea
Councillor Henry Harpur Austin Meldon
Radio Announcer Cecil Ford
A Press Photographer Joseph Linnane
Red Dan John McDarby
Councillor Andrew Kernaghan William O'Gorman
Joe Stitt Michael Kinsella
A Telegraph Boy Edward Stewart
Production Team  
Director Lennox Robinson
Settings by Anne Yeats
Produced by Lennox Robinson

Unpublished Scripts

  • Contact

    National Library of Ireland (Manuscripts Department)

  • Address

    Kildare Street
    Dublin 2
    Republic of Ireland

  • Phone

    +353 1 6030200

  • Email


  • Website


Rights Information

Source Of Information

The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme and Ireland's Abbey Theatre: A History 1899-1951 by Lennox Robinson, with additional information from press cuttings of the time and the Abbey Theatre archive.