Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Cyril Cusack

1910 - 1993

Cyril Cusack was born in Durban, South Africa, in 1910. He moved to Ireland with his mother as a small boy, and appeared on stage and in film from the age of six. He joined the Abbey Theatre as an actor at the age of 21. He appeared in numerous plays at the Abbey, Gate and on London stages. In addition he produced, directed and wrote for theatre. He was a renowned film actor and appeared in more than 100 films in his lifetime.

Company Jobs

Job Title Company
Founder Cyril Cusack Productions

Playwriting Credits

Play Title Playwright
Tar Éis an Aifrinn Cyril Cusack


Play Title Playwright
The Temptation of Mr. O Cyril Cusack Franz Kafka


Play Title Playwright
A Bride for the Unicorn Denis Johnston
A Deuce O' Jacks F R Higgins
A Life Hugh Leonard
A Spot in the Sun T.C. Murray
An Stoirm Aodh Mac Dhubháin Alexander Ostrovsky
An Traona sa Mhóinfhéar Fachtna Ó hAnnracháin Séamus de Faoite
Bird's Nest Lennox Robinson
Carmilla Lord Longford Sheridan Le Fanu
Céad Bliain D'Aois Tomás Ó hÉighneacháin Serafín Alvaréz Quintero Juaquín Álvarez Quintero
Crystal and Fox Brian Friel
Faustus Kelly Flann O'Brien
Give Him a House George Shiels
Katie Roche Teresa Deevy
Killycreggs in Twilight Lennox Robinson
Mícheál Máiréad Ní Ghráda Leo Tolstoy
Moses' Rock Hugh Hunt Frank O'Connor
Na Cluig Proinsias Ó Míodhacháin
Neal Maquade George Shiels
Old Road Michael Joseph (M.J.) Molloy
Ordóg an Bháis Mícheál Ó hAodha
Parnell of Avondale W.R. Fearon
Pilgrims Mary Rynne
Quin's Secret George Shiels
Roger Casement Roger McHugh Alfred Noyes
Rossa Roger McHugh
Shadow and Substance Paul Vincent Carroll
She Had to Do Something Sean O'Faolain
Storm Song Denis Johnston
Summer's Day Maura Molloy
Tenants At Will George Shiels
The Barrel Organ Robert Collis
The Bishop's Bonfire Sean O'Casey
The End House Joseph Tomelty
The Grand House in the City Brinsley MacNamara
The Great Adventure Charles I Foley
The Heritage J.K. Montgomery
The Invincibles Hugh Hunt Frank O'Connor
The King of Spain's Daughter Teresa Deevy
The Man in the Cloak Louis d'Alton
The New Regime George Shiels
The O'Cuddy Andrew Wharton
The Passing Day George Shiels
The Patriot Maeve O'Callaghan
The Plot Succeeds Austin Clarke
The Second Kiss Austin Clarke
The Silver Jubilee Cormac O'Daly
The Spanish Soldier Louis d'Alton
The Temptation of Mr. O Cyril Cusack Franz Kafka
The Vicar of Wakefield Tom Murphy (1) Oliver Goldsmith
The Voices of Doolin Walter Macken
The Wise Have Not Spoken Paul Vincent Carroll
They Went By The Bus Frank Carney
Three Sisters Frank McGuinness Anton Chekhov
Tomorrow Never Comes Louis d'Alton
Vigil A.P. Fanning
William John Mawhinney St. John Greer Ervine
Wuthering Heights Ria Mooney Donald Stauffer Emily Brontë
Yahoo Lord Longford

Produced by

Play Title Playwright
The Second Kiss Austin Clarke