Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Printer Friendly

The Alternative


  • Playwright

    Michael Patrick  Oisín Kearney 

  • Setting

    Dublin, 2019.

  • Notes

    Chosen for production at the end of a two-year nationwide Fishamble artist-development initiative - A Play for Ireland (2018/19) - in association with Draíocht, The Everyman, Lime Tree Theatre/Belltable, Lyric Theatre, Pavilion Theatre, and Town Hall Theatre to mark the company's 30th anniversary year.   
    Nominated for Best New Play in the 2019 Irish Times Theatre Awards.

  • Synopsis

    What if Ireland was still part of the United Kingdom? What if Home Rule had passed? What if there was no War of Independence? No Civil War? No partition? What if the island had only one soccer team. On the eve of the Referendum, British Prime Minister Ursula Lysaght is returning to her hometown of Dublin to convince voters to Remain. With the threat of chaos in the streets, and personal conflict behind the scenes, the final debate is set to begin at BBC Dublin: should Ireland leave the UK?

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


Original Production

Original Cast  
Ursula Lysaght Karen Ardiff
Voiceover Helen Norton
On Screen Gene Rooney
On Screen Roseanna Purcell
On Screen Mary Murray
On Screen Patrick Martins
On Screen Fionn Foley
On Screen Peter Daly
On Screen Bríd Ní Neachtain
Peter Keogh Arthur Riordan
Hannah Murray Rachel O'Byrne (2)
John Fitzgibbon Rory Nolan
Patrick Fionntán Larney
Gráinne Devlin Maeve Fitzgerald
Richard Devlin Lorcan Cranitch
Voiceover Nick Dunning
Production Team  
Director Jim Culleton
Set Designer Maree Kearns
Lighting Designer Mark Galione
Sound Designer Denis Clohessy
Costume Designer Saileóg O'Halloran
Video Designer Oisín Kearney
Production Manager Marie Tierney
Production Manager Sarah Keane
Stage Manager Fiona Keller
Assistant Stage Manager Sarah Purcell
Fight Director Bryan Burroughs
Vision Mixer Sean Walsh (2)
Dramaturg Gavin Kostick
Choral Director Ruaidhrí Ó Dálaigh
Irish Translation Fionn Foley
Irish Translation Siobhán Ní Chiobháin
Assistant Director Martha Fitzgerald
Assistant Designer Kathy Ann Murphy
Production Co-ordinator Ronan Carey
Marketing Chandrika Narayanan-Mohan
Marketing Assistant Niamh Ní Fhlatharta
Public Relations O'Doherty Communications
Graphic Design Publicis Dublin
Producer Eva Scanlan
AV Director & Camera Oisín Kearney
AV Producer Ciara Elizabeth Smyth
Camera & Graphics Pete Graham
Camera Operator Federico Rea
Campaign Poster Designer Naomi Sheehan
AV Graphic Designer Chris Scott

Published Scripts

Rights Information

  • Territory

    All Territories

  • Rights Type


  • Contact

    Nick Marston, Curtis Brown

  • Address

    Haymarket House, 28-29 Haymarket,
    London SW1Y 4SP

  • Phone

    +44 (0)20 7393 4450

  • Email


  • Website


  • Territory

    All Territories

  • Rights Type


  • Contact

    Samuel French Ltd

  • Address

    24 - 32 Stephenson Way
    London NW1 2HD

  • Phone

    + 44 (0)20 7255 4302

  • Website


Source Of Information

The information for this entry was taken from the play's original production programme, the festival programme and the published playscript.