Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Fishamble: The New Play Company


  • Description

    Fishamble: The New Play Company is a multi award-winning, internationally acclaimed theatre company, dedicated to the discovery, development and production of new work for theatre. So far, it has produced 55 productions of new plays, including 7 productions of multi-writer works, which included 89 short plays.

    Fishamble was previously known as Pigsback Theatre Company which produced a further ten new Irish plays.

    Fishamble is at the heart of new writing for theatre in Ireland, not just through its productions of new plays, but through its extensive programme of Training, Development and Mentoring schemes, which include Show in a Bag (with ITI and Dublin Fringe Festival) and the New Play Clinic. Each year, Fishamble supports 60% of the writers of all new plays produced on the island of Ireland. Fishamble is funded by the Arts Council, Dublin City Council and Culture Ireland.

  • Address

    3 Great Denmark Street,,Dublin 1,Co. Dublin






    + 353 (0)1 670 4018

    Artistic Director

    Jim Culleton

    General Manager

    Eva Scanlan

    Literary Manager

    Gavin Kostick

New Irish Plays Produced By Fishamble: The New Play Company

Play Title Playwright
Appropriate Sarah-Jane Scott
Before Pat Kinevane
Beowulf: The Blockbuster! Bryan Burroughs
Big Ole Piece Of Cake Sean McLoughlin
Black Wednesday Gavin Kostick
Brendan Galileo for Europe Fionn Foley
Charolais Noni Stapleton
Connected Karl Quinn Will Irvine
Consenting Adults Dermot Bolger
Counter Culture Katie O'Kelly
Doom Raider Gavin Kostick
Dreamframe Deirdre Hines
Drip Feed Karen Cogan
Dublin Oldschool Emmet Kirwan
Embargo Deirdre Kinahan
Fight Night Gavin Kostick

Co-conceived by Gavin Kostick and Aonghus Óg McAnally.

Forgotten Pat Kinevane
From Both Hips Mark O'Rowe
GAA MAAD Vickey Curtis Áine O'Hara
Guaranteed! Colin Murphy
Handel's Crossing Joseph O'Connor (1)
Haughey|Gregory Colin Murphy
Inside the GPO Colin Murphy
Invitation to a Journey Gavin Kostick
Ireland's Call John Connors
Kicking All the Boxes Liz Fitzgibbon
Last Year Gavin Kostick

Based on an original idea by Maeve McGrath

Little Thing, Big Thing Donal O'Kelly
Commissioned by Fishamble in partnership with the STROLLERS Touring Network.
Looking Deadly Niamh McGrath Keith Singleton
Mainstream Rosaleen McDonagh
Maz and Bricks Eva O'Connor
Monged Gary Duggan
Moonlight and Music Jennifer Johnston
My Left Nut Michael Patrick Oisín Kearney
Noah and the Tower Flower Sean McLoughlin
On Blueberry Hill Sebastian Barry
Payback! Marion O'Dwyer Maria McDermottroe
Pilgrims in the Park Jim O'Hanlon
Pocket Music Gavin Kostick
Rank Robert Massey
Rathmines Road Deirdre Kinahan
Rebel Rebel Robbie O'Connor Aisling O'Mara
SAUCE Ciara Elizabeth Smyth

Story developed with Camille Lucy Ross. 

Sequin Dreams Michelle Moran
She Was Wearing... Stella Feehily Gavin Kostick Dermot Bolger Sebastian Barry Michael Collins (1) Maeve Binchy Rosalind Haslett Roisin Ingle Marian Keyes
Shorts Simon O'Gorman Stella Feehily Ciara Considine Dawn Bradfield Tara Dairman Bryan Delaney Talaya Delaney Aino Dubrawsky Ger Gleeson James Heaney Colm Maher Lorraine McArdle Tina Reilly Mary Portser
Silent Pat Kinevane
Small Plastic Wars Pat McGrath
Spinning Deirdre Kinahan
Split Ends Lauren Larkin
Still Rosalind Haslett
Strandline Abbie Spallen
Sure Thing Eric O'Brien Jed Murray
Swing Gavin Kostick Janet Moran Steve Blount Peter Daly
Tadhg Stray Wandered In Michael Collins (1)
Take Off Your Cornflakes Rose Henderson Pat Nolan (3)
Tea Set Gina Moxley
The Alternative Michael Patrick Oisín Kearney
The Auld Fella Michael Glenn Murphy
The Bruising of Clouds Sean McLoughlin
The Buddhist of Castleknock Jim O'Hanlon
The Carnival King Ian Kilroy
The Centre of the Universe John Doran
The End of the Road Gavin Kostick
The Gist of It Rodney Lee
The Great Goat Bubble Julian Gough
The Great Jubilee Nicholas Kelly
The Humours of Bandon Margaret McAuliffe
The Matador Shane O'Reilly
The Nun’s Wood Pat Kinevane
The Plains of Enna Pat Kinevane
The Pride of Parnell Street Sebastian Barry
The Sit Gavin Kostick
The Wheelchair On My Face Sonya Kelly
The Wickedness of Oz Kate Gilmore
Tiny Plays for Ireland Darren Donohue Joseph O'Connor (1) Michael West Dermot Bolger Michelle Read Deirdre Kinahan Karl O'Neill Rory Nolan Ardal O'Hanlon Gerald Murphy Jody O'Neill Colin Murphy Sean McLoughlin Rosaleen McDonagh Niamh Creely Evan Lee D'Alton Rachel Feehily Mark Hennessy Adrienne Michel-Long Gregory Rosenstock Michael Cussen Ronan Geoghegan Ciara Ní Chuirc Jesse Weaver Antonia Hart
Tiny Plays for Ireland 2 Mike Finn Garrett Keogh Pauline McLynn Tom Swift Maeve Binchy Brendan Griffin Justine Mitchell Geraldine McAlinden Richie O'Sullivan Kevin Gildea Tanya Wilson Eleanor White Conor Hanratty Mark Cantan Henry Martin Colum McCann Christine McKeon Lucy Montague-Moffatt Patrick O'Sullivan Liz Quinn Federico Storni Graham Stull
To Hell in a Handbag Helen Norton Jonathan White
True Believers Joseph O'Connor (1)
Adapted from the authors own short stories.
Twenty Fifty Fionnuala Gygax Dan Colley
Underneath Pat Kinevane
Walk For Me Kate Stanley Brennan

Also known as MissKate (songwriting credits). 

Whereabouts Jacqueline Strawbridge Shane Carr Tom Swift Anna Newell Jack Olohan Jody O'Neill Belinda McKeon Louise Lowe Colin Murphy John Grogan John Cronin
Wired to the Moon Jim Culleton Maeve Binchy
An adaptation of six short stories by Maeve Binchy.