Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Dermot Bolger


Dermot Bolger was born in Finglas in Dublin in 1959. He is the author of numerous novels including 'Night Shift','The Journey Home', 'Father's Music' and 'The Valparaiso Voyage'. His awards as a dramatist include the Samuel Beckett Award (for 'The Lament for Arthur Cleary', 1989), an Irish Times/ESB Irish Theatre Award for Best New Irish Play ( for 'From These Green Heights', 2004) and two Edinburgh Fringe Firsts (for 'The Lament for Arthur Cleary' and 'The Holy Ground', 1989 and 1990 respectively). His plays have been published in collected volumes by Penguin ('A Dublin Quartet') and Methuen ('Bolger: Plays 1'). Appointed Writer-in-Association at the Abbey in 1997, Bolger is also a poet. He founded and edited Raven Arts Press from 1977-1992 and co-founded New Island Books of which he is Executive Editor. Dermot Bolger is a member of Aosdána. He lives in Dublin.

Playwriting Credits

Play Title Playwright
April Bright Dermot Bolger
Bang Bang Dermot Bolger
Blinded by the Light Dermot Bolger
Consenting Adults Dermot Bolger
Dear Ireland I Ciara Elizabeth Smyth Keith James Walker Mark O'Halloran Una McKevitt Blindboy Boatclub Carmel Winters Enda Walsh Iseult Golden Manchán Magan Sarah Hanly Eva O'Connor Emmet Kirwan John Connors Edna O'Brien Rosaleen McDonagh Shane O'Reilly Aoife Martyn Arthur Riordan David Ireland Nancy Harris Owen McCafferty Andrea Molino Jody O'Neill Frank McGuinness John O'Donovan (2) Feli Speaks Deirdre Kinahan Gina Moxley Sinéad Burke Zoe Ní Riordáin Abbie Spallen Dermot Bolger Karen Cogan Michael West Carys D. Coburn Jimmy Murphy Shaun Dunne Meadhbh McHugh Ursula Rani Sarma Colm Keegan (2) Zhu Yi Phillip McMahon Pom Boyd Darach Mac Con Iomaire Stacey Gregg Sonya Kelly Thomas Kane Byrne Margaret Perry Joseph O'Connor (1) Kit de Waal
From These Green Heights Dermot Bolger
In High Germany Dermot Bolger
One Last White Horse Dermot Bolger
She Was Wearing... Marian Keyes Stella Feehily Gavin Kostick Dermot Bolger Sebastian Barry Michael Collins (1) Maeve Binchy Rosalind Haslett Roisin Ingle
Tea Chests and Dreams Dermot Bolger
The Consequences of Lightning Dermot Bolger
The Holy Ground Dermot Bolger
The Lament for Arthur Cleary Dermot Bolger
The Parting Glass Dermot Bolger
The Passion of Jerome Dermot Bolger
The Townlands of Brazil Dermot Bolger
Tiny Plays for Ireland Jesse Weaver Darren Donohue Joseph O'Connor (1) Michael West Antonia Hart Dermot Bolger Michelle Read Deirdre Kinahan Karl O'Neill Rory Nolan Ardal O'Hanlon Gerald Murphy Jody O'Neill Colin Murphy Sean McLoughlin Rosaleen McDonagh Niamh Creely Evan Lee D'Alton Rachel Feehily Mark Hennessy Adrienne Michel-Long Gregory Rosenstock Michael Cussen Ronan Geoghegan Ciara Ní Chuirc
Walking the Road Dermot Bolger


Play Title Playwright
Ulysses Dermot Bolger James Joyce