Playography is currently undergoing an essential rebuild, technical update and maintenance. All updates are on hold until the rebuild is complete. We are continuing to work hard in the background and are still accepting submissions which will be complete in Autumn 2023. For more information visit ITI's website.


Printer Friendly

Ulysses in Nighttown


  • Playwright

    Marjorie Barkentin 

  • Adapted / Translated From

    James Joyce 

  • Author Notes

    Dramatised by Marjorie Barkentin under the supervision of Padraic Colum.

  • Synopsis

    An Adaptation of James Joyce's Ulysses, following Leopold Bloom's odyssey through the streets of Dublin.

  • Play Type


    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


  • Cast Notes

    Cast doubling is possible. See original production for details.


Original Cast  
Molly Bloom Eileen Colgan
Bella Bello the Virago Eileen Colgan
Mrs. Thornton Eileen Colgan
The Midwife Eileen Colgan
The Recorder of Dublin Gerard Walsh
Rev. Mr. Hugh Haines Love, M.A. Gerard Walsh
Mrs. Bellingham Bernadette McKenna
The Nymph Bernadette McKenna
Martha who becomes Peggy Griffin Bernadette McKenna
Leopold Bloom Joe Dowling
Narrator Bosco Hogan
Lynch Bosco Hogan
J J Molloy into John F Taylor Bosco Hogan
Buck Mulligan Peadar Lamb
Blazes Boylan Peadar Lamb
The Bishop of Dublin Peadar Lamb
Martin Cunningham Eamon Kelly
The Navvy Eamon Kelly
Dr. Dixon Eamon Kelly
The Mayor of Dublin Eamon Kelly
Private Carr Seamus Newham
The Dark Mercury Seamus Newham
Hanging Harry the Mersey Terror Seamus Newham
Zoe Kathleen Barrington
Mrs. Yelverton Barry Kathleen Barrington
Mary Driscoll Máire Ní Ghráinne
Cissy Caffrey Máire Ní Ghráinne
Simon Dedalus Edward Golden
Long John Fanning Edward Golden
Elijah Edward Golden
Philip Beaufoy Edward Golden
The Cardinal Edward Golden
Dr. Vincent O'Brien Edward Golden
Court Crier Geoff Golden
The Citizen Geoff Golden
The Sandstrewer Motorman Geoff Golden
The Archbishop of Down and Connor Geoff Golden
Private Compton Bryan Murray
Hynes Bryan Murray
Professor Maginni Bryan Murray
The Hobgoblin Bryan Murray
First Watch Micheál Ó Briain
Mackintosh Micheál Ó Briain
Larry O'Rourke Micheál Ó Briain
Mrs. Breen Maire O'Neill (2)
Stephen's Mother Maire O'Neill (2)
Mrs. Mervin Talboys Maire O'Neill (2)
Old Gummy Granny Maire O'Neill (2)
Kitty Leslie Lalor
Gertie McDowell Leslie Lalor
The Sylph Leslie Lalor
Stephen Dedalus Frank Grimes
Second Watch Paddy O'Callaghan
The Preacher Paddy O'Callaghan
Professor Goodwin Paddy O'Callaghan
Production Team  
Director Tomás Mac Anna
Designer Bronwen Casson
Lighting Designer Leslie Scott
Sound Nuala Golden
Musical Director Gerard Victory
Stage Director Bill Hay
Assistant Stage Director Finola Eustace
Stage Manager Tommy Rogers
Wardrobe Josephine Lovell
Chief Electrician Mick Doyle (2)


  • Not Found


The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme.