Printer Friendly

The Bishop's Bonfire


  • Playwright

    Sean O'Casey 

  • Setting

    Set in and about Councillor Relligan's home on an Autumn Evening.

  • Play Type

    Plays General

    Number Of Acts


  • Cast Size Male


  • Cast Size Female


Original Production

Original Cast  
Codger Sleehaun Cyril Cusack
Daniel Clooncoohy Aidan Kerrigan
Richard Rankin Tony Quinn (2)
Dick Carranaun(The Prodigal) Seamus Kavanagh
Railway Porter Harry Hutchinson
Keelin Relligan Maureen Cusack
Rev. Timothy Canon Burren Paul Farrell
Manus Denis Brennan
Fr. Boheroe Pat Layde
Councillor Relligan Edward Byrne
Lieutenant Michael Relligan Godfrey Quigley
Foorawn Sheila Brennan
Production Team  
Director Tyrone Guthrie
Decor by Michael O'Herlihy
Stage Manager Traolach Ó hAonghusa
Assistant Stage Manager Fred O'Donovan (2)
Wardrobe Grainne O'Shannon
Secretary John Beary
Business Manager William P. Ryan

Rights Information

  • Territory

    All Territories

  • Rights Type

    All Rights

  • Contact

    The Estate of Sean O'Casey: Macnaughton Lord Representation

  • Address

    44 South Molton Street
    London W1K 5RT

  • Phone

    +44 (0)20 7499 1411

  • Email

  • Website

Source Of Information

The information for this entry was taken from the original production programme.