Home | About | Contact Us

The Arts Council Playography Na Gaeilge


Anthony Cronin


Anthony Cronin was born in Co. Wexford in 1928. His many works include the novels The Life of Riley (1964), and Identity Papers (Dublin, Co-Op Books, 1980). His collections of poems are Poems (1958); Collected Poems, 1950-73 (1973); Reductionist Poem (1980); 41 Sonnet Poems (1982); RMS Titanic (1981); New and Selected Poems (1982); The End of the Modern World (1989); Relationships (1992); and Minotaur (1999). His non-fiction includes Dead as Doornails (1976); Heritage Now (Dingle, Brandon, 1982/New York, St Martin's Press, 1983); A Question of Modernity (London, Secker & Warburg, 1966); An Irish Eye; Art for the People? (Brandon, 1985); No Laughing Matter: The Life and Times of Flann O' Brien (London, Grafton, 1989); and Samuel Beckett The Last Modernist (London, HarperCollins 1996). He is a founding member of Aosdána and lives in Dublin.


Play Title Playwright
Ulysses Ronnie Walsh Anthony Cronin James Joyce